Monday, June 30, 2014

Din Tai Fung

Fantastic dim sum at Din Tai Fung in Hsinchu

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Swimming!

Level up!

African diorama

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Baobing

Shave ice, Taiwanese style. Instead of shaving pure ice, they add some dairy (and maybe sugar) before freezing the ice block. The shave ice ends up silky smooth.


Wait, where am I?

The Big City mall in Hsinchu (a) is gigantic, and (b) features an entire section mocked up to look like San Francisco.









Friday, June 27, 2014

bird watching hike




Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Academy of Sciences


Hsinchu morning

I'll be looking at this view in the morning for the next week or so...


That's the view from my room at the Royal Hotel.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

LBS at Angel Island



Saturday, June 14, 2014

towel ring

Our hand towels hang on bars above the counter. Soren needs a stool even to get his hands to the sink, so the towels are beyond reach. Solution?

Friday, June 13, 2014

Father's Day


Sunday, June 08, 2014

where'd the bridge go?

After swimming lessons, we often go to the Warming Hut at the west end of Crissy Field. Sitting outside, you get a nice view, including a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Not today, though. Fog!

Soren's Laval

Laval is the main character in the Lego Legends of Chima world. He's a lion. Anders loves Chima, so of course so does Soren. Here is Soren's picture of Laval (he ran out of space at the bottom, so taped on some extra paper... and then ran out of space again, so taped on still more paper).

Friday, June 06, 2014

Science!

Wednesday, June 04, 2014

nap time at Little Bear

Two of the littlest panda bears...

Monday, June 02, 2014

Farewell to kindergarten...

...and bring on first grade!

Soren's jellyfish